SPS Today: Spring Athletics | Crew, Track, Girls Lacrosse Highlight Season


For the first time since 1979, girls crew swept the eights at the NEIRA Regatta. For their efforts, the girls were awarded the Gilcreast Team Trophy, last earned in 2001. The New England title capped an undefeated season for the girls first boat, Head Coach Michael Spencer, and assistant Deb Vo. The first eight, along with a four, went on to compete at the Reading Regatta and the Henley Women’s Regatta in England. The eight beat the University of Bristol to win the Intermediate 2 Championship at Reading and lost by one second to Headington School in the Peabody Cup at Henley. The boys first and second boats finished second and fourth, respectively, at the NEIRA Regatta, while the young third boat narrowly missed a spot in the final, losing to Brunswick by 1/3 of a length.


The girls swept the NEIRA Regatta.


Several athletes shined at the ISTA Track Championships, including Cecilia Marrinan ’20 (first in 200m, and second in 100m). The SPS boys earned first-place finishes in the 400m (SPS record 43.54) and 1600m relays and Khalfani Green ’17 (400m) and Eze Tieide ’18 (javelin) earned individual titles. At the NEPSTA Division I Championship, the girls 4x400m relay team of Marrinan, Francesca Walton ’17, Lauren Henderson ’19, and Natalie Tulchinsky ’20 established a new SPS record (4:19.02). The boys finished third overall in New England, as Green earned MVP honors for his first-place finishes in the 400m, 300m hurdles, and as the anchor leg of the 4x400m relay. Other All New England performances came from Diego Dorantes-Ferreria ’18 (2nd in 200m), Tieide (2nd in javelin), and Green’s 4x400m relay team members Liam Jordan ’17, Santi Saravia ’17, and Jordi Freeman ’17.


Khalfani Green '17 earned MVP honors at the New England Championship.


Another season, another success for Coach Heather Crutchfield and the Big Red girls lacrosse team (15-4). Multiple players contributed to a potent attack, including Charlotte Clark ’18 (31g, 27a), Gillis Frechette ’18 (41g, 13a), Bridget Babcock ’19 (37g, 17a), Finley Frechette ’17 (34g, 10a), and Phoebe Day ’19 (29g, 15a). Midfielder Babcock led the team with 61 draw controls, while Clark was the leader in ground balls (58). Shea Jenkins ’18 was a standout in the midfield, scooping up 45 ground balls and a team- high 29 forced turnovers. Harley Hayes ’17 and Jax Donahue ’19 anchored the defense. St. Paul’s was held to fewer than 10 goals in only three of its 19 games.


The girls varsity lacrosse team went 15-4.


A young SPS boys lacrosse team battled its way through a 3-16 campaign that included a series of injury setbacks. Goalie David Roselle ’19 (defensive MVP) was a standout, posting a save percentage near 60 percent. Hayden Dieterle ’18 was the top face-off man for Coach Davies Cabot, while Jack Fitzgibbons ’17 (offensive MVP) and Reid Clemmenson ’18 led the attack. Defensive stalwarts Charlie Kessler ’20 and Charlie Murphy ’20 showed promise for the future.


Under coach Sarah Boylan, the SPS softball team finished the season at 6-8. Highlights included the Big Red’s inaugural appearance in the Big East Softball Tournament, which featured wins over Brooks and Tabor and a 10-inning loss to Nobles. Taryn Collins ’17 completed a stellar SPS career with 381 career strikeouts and a 1.52 ERA on the mound and a career batting average of .555. Isabel Stoddard ’17 recorded 64 hits and a .478 career batting average. Sister Brett Stoddard ’19 (.455) was second behind Collins (.462) in 2016-17 batting average.


Playing the full ISL schedule for the final time, the Big Red (5-10) earned wins against Brooks, Roxbury Latin, Rivers, and St. George’s and also took perennial powerhouse St. Sebastian’s to extra innings. Chapin Bassi ’17 (.546) posted one of the best offensive years in SPS baseball history. Tristan Lee ’17 (.318) and Pat Murray ’17 (.273) were other strong contributors.


The St. Paul's girls earned victories against Brooks, Middlesex, Thayer, Governor’s, St. George’s, and St. Mark’s to finish the season at 6-5. Sarah Evenson ’17 earned the Varsity Coaches’ Award, while Caroline Burkhart ’17 received the Impact Player Award. Richard Li ’18 and Spencer Rowley ’18 earned the same honors, respectively, for the boys (5-13).